In this category Domain names and DNS
Changing the contact details of international domains
On this page
Now and then you may need to change the contact details of your domain. For example, because you have a new email address or a new company name, or because your domain is to be transferred to a new owner.
When the contact details change, ICANN (which administers international domains) requires the change to be approved by both the previous owner (the previous details) and the new owner (the new/corrected details).
Even if the previous and the new owner have the same email address, ICANN requires two separate emails to be sent.
See ICANN’s Transfer Policy (opens in a new tab)
New owner/new (corrected) details
As the new owner, you will receive an email about the request to change the registrant of the domain (on a Danish account its subject is “Anmodning om at ændre registrant for xx-domæne”). The email is in the language of your account and contains a link that you need to click.
The link takes you to a web page where you accept the change. This web page is in English and explains the change that is about to be made.
The email will have an item that is already ticked, saying (in our translation):
“I expressly authorise OpenSRS to act as my designated agent, as set out in the ICANN Transfer Policy, to approve future changes of registrant on my behalf.”
This means that from then on we can edit your contact details without having to send you an email. If you do not want to give that permission, untick the box before you click Accept.
If you do not click the link in the email and accept the change, the change will not be approved, and you could end up losing the domain. So it is VERY important that you approve it.
When the changes have been made, you will receive an email confirming this.
Previous owner/previous details
As the previous owner, you will receive an email about the request to change the registrant of the domain (on a Danish account its subject is “Anmodning om at ændre registrant for xx-domæne”). The email is in the language of your account and contains a link that you need to click.
The link takes you to a web page where you accept the change. This web page is in English and explains the change that is about to be made. As the previous owner, you can waive the 60-day domain lock. This is a tickbox on the page the link in the email takes you to.
If you do not click the link in the email and accept the change, the change will not be approved. So it is VERY important that you approve it.
When the changes have been made, you will receive an email confirming this.
Domain lock
When the domain details are changed, the domain is also locked for 60 days. This means that the domain cannot be transferred to another registrar for 60 days after the changes have taken effect. The previous owner can waive this, though.